Regulation of Architects in New Hampshire is found in Chapter 310 A, Title XXX of New Hampshire Revised Statutes. In New Hampshire, no person can practice architecture without an architect’s license. RSA 310-A:38 provides the preliminary Requirements for Licensure as an Architect. The preliminary requirements are:
1) Applicant shall be at least 21 years of age and shall have graduated from an approved high school or its equivalent; and
2) Applicant shall hold a professional degree in architecture from an accredited school and have had such diversified practical experience, including academic training, as the board of architects (board) shall deem appropriate; or
3) In lieu of a professional degree in architecture, the board may accept evidence of additional diversified practical experience, including academic training, as the board shall deem appropriate.
However, the board has the discretion to reject an applicant who is not of good professional character, as evidenced by:
- Conviction for commission of a felony;
- Misstatement of facts by the applicant in connection with the application;
- Violation of any of the standards of conduct required of architects as they are set forth in the subdivision or in rules adopted by the board; or
- Practicing architecture without being licensed in violation of laws of the jurisdiction in which the practice took place.
After complying with the preliminary requirements, the applicant shall, in order to become licensed, pass written examinations. Pursuant to RSA 310-A:43, the board shall prescribe the methods of procedure and the scope of the examination which shall include the following subjects: pre-design, general structures, lateral forces, mechanical and electrical systems, materials and methods, construction documents and services, site planning, building planning, and building technology.
Pursuant to RSA 310-A:45, the board issues an architect’s license to any person who holds a National Council of Architectural Registration Board certificate, or an unexpired license or certificate of registration issued by any state, territory or possession of the United States. The board may grant an architect’s license to any applicant who is similarly licensed in any other state, provided the other state’s licensing requirements are substantially equivalent to or higher than those of New Hampshire. A nonresident architect who holds an unexpired license or certificate of registration issued by the state in which such person’s principal office is located, and such other certification as the board deems necessary, shall be permitted to offer to render such architectural services without first having been licensed by New Hampshire, but shall not practice architecture until licensed in New Hampshire.
Pursuant to RSA 310-A:46, licenses issued by the board expires on the last day of the month of the licensee’s birth in the year 2 years following the year of issuance. If the renewal fee is not submitted within 12 months after the expiration date of the license, the licensee’s name shall be removed from the mailing list and roster. An application for reinstatement shall be required to return to active status.
Pursuant to RSA 310-A:47, the board may undertake disciplinary proceedings upon its own initiative; or Upon written complaint of any person which charges that a person licensed by the board has committed misconduct and which specifies the grounds. Misconduct includes:
1) The practice of fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a certificate to practice;
2) Conviction of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude;
3) Any unprofessional conduct, or dishonorable conduct unworthy of, and affecting the practice of, the profession;
4) Unfitness or incompetency by reason of negligent habits or other causes; or negligent or willful acts performed in a manner inconsistent with the interests of persons relying on the expertise of the licensee;
5) Addiction to the use of alcohol or other habit-forming drugs to a degree which renders the licensee unfit to practice under this subdivision;
6) Mental or physical incompetency to practice;
7) Willful or repeated violation of the provisions of the subdivision; or
8) Suspension or revocation of a license, similar to one issued under the subdivision, in another jurisdiction and not reinstated.
RSA 310-A:48 provides that at least 14 days prior to hearing, both parties to a disciplinary proceeding shall be served, with a written copy of the complaint filed and notice of the time and place for hearing. A hearing shall be held on all written complaints received by the board within 3 months of the date notice of a complaint was received by the accused, unless otherwise agreed to by the parties. Written notice of all disciplinary decisions made by the board shall be given to both parties to the proceeding upon their issuance.
Pursuant to RSA 310-A:50, it shall be a class B misdemeanor for any natural person or a felony for any business organization to:
- Present or attempt to use the license or seal of another as one’s own;
- Give any false or forged evidence of any kind to the board or to any board member in obtaining a license;
- Falsely impersonate any other licensee of like or different name;
- Attempt to use an expired or revoked license;
- Practice architecture or to offer, advertise or hold oneself out to the public as being in the practice of architecture in this state without a license, or to represent by verbal claim, sign, letterhead, card, or in any other way that such person performs architectural services, unless the person holds a license ; or
- Violate any of the provisions of the subdivision.