Regulation of architects in Minnesota is found in Chapter 326 of Minnesota Annotated Statutes. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.02, any person can be deemed to be practicing architecture who performs any professional service, such as planning, design, or supervision of construction for the purpose of assuring compliance with specifications and design of any private or public buildings. Any person other than a licensed or certified architect cannot practice architecture.
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.04, a board of architecture is created. Each member of the board will receive a certificate of appointment from the governor and will file with the secretary of state the constitutional oath of office. The board will keep a record of its proceedings and a register of all applicants for licensing.
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.10, receiving an application and fee prescribed, the board can issue a license or certificate as an architect to any person over 25 years of age. The board, or a committee of the board, can subject any applicant for licensure or certification to such examinations as may be deemed necessary to establish qualifications. The fee for licensure or renewal of licensure as an architect is $120 per biennium.
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.11, the board possess the power to revoke or suspend the license or certificate of any architect, who is found guilty by the board of any fraud or deceit in obtaining a license or certificate, or of attaching the licensee’s or certificate holder’s seal or signature to any plan, specification, report, plat, or of gross negligence, incompetency, or misconduct in the practice of architecture or of any crime involving moral turpitude or upon adjudication of insanity or incompetency.
If the board or authorized authority feels that a person has engaged in an act or practice constituting the unauthorized practice of architecture, or a violation of a statute, rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to enforce, the board or other authorized authority can take legal actions or an order requiring the person to cease and desist from the unauthorized practice. Moreover, the board can establish a complaint committee to investigate, mediate, or initiate administrative or legal proceedings on behalf of the board with respect to complaints filed with or information received by the board alleging or indicating the unauthorized practice
Minn. Stat. § 326.111 provides that the board can impose a civil penalty upto $10,000 per violation upon a person who commits an act or practice constituting the unauthorized practice of architecture. The board can impose a fee to reimburse the board for all or part of the cost of the proceedings resulting in disciplinary action, imposition of civil penalties, or the issuance of a cease and desist order.
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.15 It is unlawful for any person to present or attempt to use the seal or certificate of another as one’s own, or to give false or forged evidence or to falsely impersonate any licensee or certificate holder of like or different name, or to use or attempt to use license of another as one’s own issued by any authority outside of the state, or to use or attempt to use an expired or revoked or suspended license.